Indian Domestic Cricket-1 Powerful tournament structure which strengthen the Backbone of Indian Cricket

Written by

Updated on:

Over the past decade, Indian cricket has undergone a remarkable transformation, credit goes to Indian Domestic Cricket, with substantial growth in player’s talent, infrastructure, financial prowess and global influence. This development is exemplified by recent examples, such as India sending two different teams for series against Sri Lanka and England. A testament to the capability of this cricket giant is the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), recognized as the wealthiest cricket federation globally, which is primarily because of the Indian Premier League (IPL) but other domestic tournaments are also part of BCCI’s success.

Pinnacle of domestic cricket:

Indian Cricket has gone through lot of transformation. It has a rich history a captivating saga of resilience. The strength of the men’s Indian cricket team can be attributed to the strong structure of Indian Domestic Cricket in the country, epitomized by various prestigious tournaments:

Indian Domestic Cricket

To know more about India’s rich Cricket History, Click Here.

Indian Domestic Cricket Tournament: Ranji Trophy (Category: First-class, Format: Four days):

Indian Domestic Cricket

India’s premier domestic tournament since 1934. It was named after the 1st Indian who played Cricket. Colonel Shri Sir Ranjitsinghji Vibhaji II. It is a red ball tournament. (Want to know more about Cricket Balls, Click Here.)
The 38 teams were divided into Plate and Elite leagues.
Bombay is the most successful teams which leads with 41 titles.

Duleep Trophy (Category: First-class, Format: League stage: four days; Final: five days):

Started in 1961-1962 to increase competitiveness in Indian Domestic Cricket.
Originally zonal, converted to a three-team format (India Red, India Blue, India Green) chosen by BCCI selectors. In 2021-22, the tournament restructured to its original format with five teams – North zone, South zone, West zone, East zone and Central zone fighting for the trophy along with a newly added zone the Northeast zone. West zone are amongst the most successful team in Duleep trophy, with 19 titles under their belt.

Irani Cup (Category: First-class, Format: Five-day):

It was inaugurated as a celebration of the silver jubilee of Ranji Trophy in 1959–60.
A single match between the Ranji Trophy champions and Rest of India.
The rest of India is historically dominant.

Deodhar Trophy (Category: List A, Format: 50 over):

Considered to be the List A version of the Duleep Trophy.
Initially zonal, India was converted into A, India B and India C.
The tournament was first held in 1973-74

Vijay Hazare Trophy (Category: List A, Format: 50 over):

India’s premier 50-over Indian domestic cricket tournament, highly competitive.
Cricketer Vijay Hazare felicitated in the presence of all 38 Ranji Trophy teams.
Tamil Nadu is ahead in terms of the title, but Mumbai, Karnataka, Gujarat and Saurashtra are strong contenders.

Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy (Category: List A, Format: 20 over):

India’s biggest domestic T20 championship, started after the first IPL season.
All 38 teams from Ranji Trophy and Vijay Hazare Trophy participate in this tournament.
This unpredictability ensures that no team will win more than twice in 13 seasons.

Indian Premier League (IPL – 20-over format):

Indian Domestic Cricket

Starting as India’s answer to the T20 Blast and Big Bash, it has evolved into the paramount T20 league. The eight franchises feature international stars and nurture Indian talent.
Mumbai Indians is the most successful franchise team till date by winning 5 IPL titles followed by Chennai Super Kings (CSK) with 4 IPL titles.

Age-group tournaments:

Indian Domestic Cricket is not just about senior cricket teams. BCCI nurtures young talent through various age-group tournaments:

Cooch Behar Trophy (Under 19, four days): Annual competition for Under-19 players, except Railways and Services.

Vinoo Mankad Trophy (Under-19, List A): A one-day competition for the under-19 age group, which will feature youth teams from first-class states and associations.

Vijay Merchant Trophy (Under-16, Multi-Day): Multi-day competition for Under-16 cricketers with participation from all states and associations.

Men’s U25 State A Trophy (Under 25, One Day): One-day competition for under-25 players, excluding Services.

Col CK Nayudu Trophy (under 25, four days): The four-day competition for the under-25 age group, which will feature teams from 37 states and territories.


The decade-long journey of Indian cricket has been marked by unprecedented growth driven by a comprehensive domestic structure and world-class tournaments. The success of the men’s national team is testament to the strength of the domestic cricket ecosystem, which ensures a steady supply of talent and fosters a competitive spirit. As India progresses on the global stage, the evolution of its cricket scene continues to be an interesting story.

Reference: BCCI official website

Related Post

2 thoughts on “Indian Domestic Cricket-1 Powerful tournament structure which strengthen the Backbone of Indian Cricket”

Leave a comment